The Fauvette Loureiro Memorial Scholarship

The Fauvette Loureiro Memorial Scholarship offers graduates of Sydney College of the Arts the opportunity to strengthen their artistic development through travel. Established in 1997, the scholarship recently introduced two categories that reflect its aim to support individuals at various stages in their artistic careers. There will now be two recipients of the scholarship, one in the ‘Emerging’ category and the other in the ‘Mid-career/Established’ category, receiving $10,000 and $30,000 respectively. This year, 10 artists across the two categories have been selected by an esteemed panel of judges including Julie Rrap, Pedro de Almeida and Yasmin Smith, who was the 2020 scholarship recipient. Finalists include Barbara Campbell, Emily Hunt, James Nguyen and Koji Ryui in the ‘Mid-career/Established’ category, and Ellen Dahl, Jana Hawkins-Andersen, Gillian Kayrooz, Audrey Newton, Pamela Pirovic and Kai Wasikowski in the ‘Emerging’ category. An exhibition of the finalists’ work and winner announcement will take place in February 2022.

NOTE: The dates provided are current and speculative. Many Australian and international arts organisations remain closed in accordance with COVID-19 restrictions. Please refer to institutional websites for further details.

LENNOX STACMIACCA MelbourneMCA Roslyn Oxley Gallery IMA